Sad News-Biscuit Lady Dies!

Yesterday on the mid-day news, I heard a shocking story-that Carol Fay aka “the biscuit lady” had been in the hospital for the past 3 1/2 weeks with a life-threatening illness. Later that day, someone told me that Martha Stewart had flown in last week to visit with her in the hospital.

This morning I was even more shocked to learn that she had passed away on Monday! She was a Nashville icon and will live on in the hearts of everyone that was lucky enough to have met her!

A trip to Loveless (and hopefully the opportunity to meet her) was definitely on my list of things to do when I first moved to Nashville almost 2 years ago now. The first visit there I walked in to find her doubling as a hostess that day and was lucky enough to leave with an autograph and a hug from her!

http://www.tennessean.com/section/videonetwork?bctid=76043489001

According to the ‘Tennessean”:

Carol Fay Ellison, better known as Loveless Cafe’s  
Biscuit Lady, died on Monday after a 3½-week
hospitalization. She was 48.

Ellison began her career at Loveless Cafe as a
dishwasher when she was a teenager. Owner Tom
Morales said she went on to become the face of the
restaurant with her made-from-scratch biscuits and
preserves.

The Nashville native competed against celebrity chef
Bobby Flay on the Food Network’s Throwdown! and
made biscuits with Conan O’Brien and Martha
Stewart, among numerous other television stars.

“Carol Fay embodied the best things that people
think about Nashville — that we’re a friendly, unique
place full of talent,” Nashville Mayor Karl Dean said.
“She was a great ambassador for our city.”

She would say only that the recipe came from
previous owners of the Loveless Cafe and that she
tweaked it a bit by adding a secret ingredient.

Morales said that secret ingredient was love.

“She put pride in it. She put love in it,” Morales said.
“That’s what made them so good.”

John Egerton, author of Southern Food, said
Ellison’s biscuits reminded people of what they hold
dear.

“She made biscuits that made people think, ‘This is
the way my grandmother or mother made them,’ “
Egerton said. “She called up the memory of what
biscuits ought to taste like on a cold, frosty
morning.”

Morales said more than Ellison’s biscuits, he was
going to miss her smile and her hugs, which she
gave freely to everyone.

“She was bigger than life. She always had a smile,”
he said. “She was full of love. She always looked to
the bright side of things.”

Her relatives issued a statement Tuesday thanking Loveless Café’s owner and employees and the public for its support after Ellison’s death. “Just like the secret biscuit recipe Carol Fay loved to hold so close to her heart; so do we, her family, wish to hold the nature of her death close to our hearts,” it read.

The family will receive visitors from 1-7 p.m. Friday at Henry Louis Smith Funeral Home, 1503 Buchanan Street in Nashville, and from 11 a.m.-noon Saturday at the Baptist World Center, 1700 Baptist World Center Dr., with the funeral immediately afterward.

Burial will be private.

~ by elevatedsouthern on 2010/04/07.

7 Responses to “Sad News-Biscuit Lady Dies!”

  1. This is very sad news. I knew Miss Carol Fay was sick, and was hoping for recovery. My favorite memory of Miss Carol Fay’s biscuits is from 12 years ago when I moved to Nashville from Boston. I am not a bread fan, and I never liked biscuits. I went to the Loveless Cafe, and was told by a local to try a biscuit after much protest, I tried a biscuit. I WAS HOOKED! I loved those biscuits. Truly amazing. I still don’t eat biscuits except for Miss Carol Fay’s delicious biscuits.

  2. My heart and prayers go out to the family.

  3. [...] The busiest day of the year was July 24th with 504 views. The most popular post that day was Sad News-Biscuit Lady Dies!. [...]

  4. I just saw her yesterday on Paula Deen and fell in love with her warm and bubbly personality; I was thinking I need to make a trip to Nashville just to see her and try her biscuits and peacan pie; My heart sank when they showed her picture at the end of the show and said “in loving memory of”. I didn’t even know her and am sad she is gone.

    • I just saw her today on Paula’s Show, 7/7/11 and was stunned to see “in memory of” at the end of the show

  5. I was at home in GA watching Paula Deen and saw the Carol Fay episode and then saw at the end “in memory of” and was very saddened by her death and so young. Wish I had known of her sooner. God Bless Her Soul

  6. I saw Ms. Carol on on the Paul Dean cook show. This was the first time I have heard of Ms. Carol, af the end of the cook show, it showed she had passed on. May she rest in enternal peace.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

